The Eternal Darkness of the Critical Mind

A critical mind, a cynical mind, a mind that does not want to accept what is presented to it but instead chooses to question and analyse it. There is never the sunshine of acceptance, only the etenal darkness of the critical mind.

Saturday, February 05, 2005

Geeting things off my chest...

Well usually I try to deal with specific topics, since it gives me a better idea of what to write... With the Chinese New Year rapidly approaching though, I thought it best that I get some things off my chest, for even if I can do nothing about these problems, at least I can bitch and moan and generally make myself feel better to welcome the new lunar new year. So please bear with my bitching.

Just had the IQA yesterday at my medical centre and despite getting a day's warning thanks to my senior medic's shrewdness, my Nee Soon MC only to managed a measely 74 marks out of a possible 100. You may not think it too bad, but when compared with my previous MC in Stagmont camp which managed a perfect 100, its like heaven and earth. I do not think that the whole fault lies with us though. After all we are the second busiest MC in the SAF and we are sharing our roof with other units which are part of the IQA but not under my senior medic's control. To make it worse, we are still in the midst of handing and taking over. Added to the fact that we are what is commonly termed a goalkeeper unit (cleaning up the shit others left behind, and believe me, everyone gives us shit), how can one realistically expect us to do well?

It also has me thinking about the need to have this IQA. I believe that all the working men and women know about this thing called ISO where companies have to meet certain standards. Did I say standards? Pardon me for I mean loads of unnecessary paper work just to make your things LOOK nice. Other than that it serves no other purpose but to make life miserable for people like yours truely. The intention for implementing such standarsds may be decent, but the increase workload just distracts medics from the purpose of running the medical centre. Looks good on paper? Possibly. Greater efficiency? Unlikely. Waste of time? Definitely.

No wonder the term bureaucrats has negative connotations.

Talking about the medical centre, it would be crimminal for me not to mention the types of people I encounter. If people are here for only honest purposes, life in the medical centre is actually pretty chill... but that never ever happens. You have those people who want to cao keng, which I despise as much as my MO since it means more work for all of us. What irks me no end though is that you MUST give them the benefit of the doubt, though few of them deserve it. The other type which are extremely annoying are those people who have an inflated sense of their importance and expect to be served immediately like paying customers. Well in the SAF you don't pay, we will do our jobs to our best with the limited resources we have, so bugger off!!! Unfortunately high ranks and inflated egos make a deadly cocktail for humble medics, and we are constantly in a drunken stupor.

Valentine's day is nearly upon us soon too and I have yet to find myself a date. Guess it will be another lonely Valentine's day for poor me. For budding love birds it is a time to fall deeper into love, for seasoned couples it is a chance to reaffirm their love, for forgotten love it is a chance to rekindle the love, but for singles it is to remind you that you have no love... sigh... Any single ladies seeking love? Darn its the despo in me speaking again...

Heard that NUS is now allowing people to take double degrees, and the one which caught my interest is the law/economics combination. I got into law because I would rather deal with words rather than numbers, yet I also have a soft spot in my heart for economics since it was my best subject in JC... this double degree will let me get the best of both worlds. Then again from what I've learned law by itself is hard enough, so is it worthwhile to burden myself with such another subject? Furthermore since I already had a hard time getting into law, what makes me think I can take this course. Wouldn't mind trying though, just to take a glimpse of the girls if nothing else... (cue evil perverted laughter...)

Is it me or is there fewer pretty JC girls using public transport nowadays? Somehow I feel that I always end up seeing too few of them to brighten up my day... Maybe it is due to the fact that I get off work too early, or maybe fewer of them are living in woodlands; if so it would be quite saddening, since I always find girls in JC uniform particularly attractive... So I've revealed what my fetish is, but please note that I didn't REALLY say it. Someone is abusing my account.

Well enough bitching about life now. Chinese New Year is nearly upon us I would like to wish everyone a joyous festive season, and a healthy and prosperous lunar new year ahead. Particularly healthy, so less people will report sick and make my lunar new year less than joyous...

Quote of the day

"A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort."

-Herm Albright (1876 - 1944)

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home